blog-fbook messSo I couldn’t help but notice that each time I went in my Facebook messages on my phone, a pop-up came up to ask me to download the Facebook Messenger App. For awhile it was an option, but it’s going to be mandatory soon for anybody that wants to access Facebook messages from a smartphone.

However, the app may take over more of your phone than you want it to! Facebook gets permission to make calls, record audio, take pictures and access private information.

Here are some pieces of the Terms of Use from the Huffington Post original article:

Allows the app to change the state of network connectivity – The app can turn your phone connections on and off without telling you.

Allows the app to call phone numbers without your intervention. This may result in unexpected charges or calls. Malicious apps may cost you money by making calls without your confirmation – The app can call phone numbers within your call log without your permission.  If you have paid minutes, this will count against them.

Allows the app to send SMS messages. This may result in unexpected charges. Malicious apps may cost you money by sending messages without your confirmation – The app can message anyone it likes without asking your permission and cost you money if you don’t have a texting plan.

Allows the app to record audio with microphone – This permission allows the app to record audio at any time without your confirmation

Allows the app to take pictures and videos with the camera – This permission allows the app to use the camera at any time without your confirmation.

Allows the app to read you phone’s call log, including data about incoming and outgoing calls. This permission allows apps to save your call log data, and malicious apps may share call log data without your knowledge.

Allows the app to read data about your contacts stored on your phone, including the frequency with which you’ve called, emailed, or communicated in other ways with specific individuals

Allows the app to read personal profile information stored on your device, such as your name and contact information. This means the app can identify you and may send your profile information to others.

Allows the app to access the phone features of the device – This permission allows the app to determine the phone number and device IDs, whether a call is active, and the remote number connected by a call.

Allows the app to get a list of accounts known by the phone – This may include any accounts created by applications you have installed, such as Instagram, Vine, Twitter and more.

What do you think of this?

 

Post comment

Welcome to my blog! I created this blog a few years ago and still enjoy it just as much now as I did then. Here you will find random chatter of all things related to my life. Have an opinion to share? Let me know if the comments!

Categories

Archives

What I Review Most

Recent Posts

Recent Comments